ISO 30301 revision: what applies now, and what the proof may change
Information and documentation, Management systems for records, Requirements
A free, cited reference to the 25 clause records that apply today, the 3 normative Annex A records, the public stage record and a free date check. Your certificate today is against ISO 30301:2019. The kit is USD 299 one off and the watch is USD 29 a month.
Where does your certificate sit against the estimate?
Answer seven questions about the certificate you hold and the audits in front of you. The check returns the standard that applies today, the publication window, your planning target, the illustrative transition case and the first three actions. It never sends your answers anywhere.
Timing and readiness, not conformity
It applies the public stage record and the certificate dates you enter. It does not audit your system, does not decide whether your certification body will accept a transition plan, and does not replace the Global ACI arrangements when they are published.
Which clauses apply to you today?
These are the clauses of the edition a certificate is issued against. Each page states the requirement in our words, the role it binds, the evidence an auditor asks for, the common failures and what to do before the revision. The draft column is deliberately not filled: the PRF numbering is not public.
| Clause | Clause-level record | Group | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4.1.1 | Understanding the organization and its context | Context of the organization | 3 evidence |
| 4.1.2 | Records requirements | Context of the organization | 3 evidence |
| 4.2 | Understanding the needs and expectations of interested parties | Context of the organization | 3 evidence |
| 4.3 | Determining the scope of the MSR | Context of the organization | 3 evidence |
| 4.4 | Management system for records | Context of the organization | 3 evidence |
| 5.1 | Leadership and commitment | Leadership | 3 evidence |
| 5.2 | Policy | Leadership | 3 evidence |
| 5.3 | Organization roles, responsibilities and authorities | Leadership | 3 evidence |
| 6.1 | Actions to address risks and opportunities | Planning | 3 evidence |
| 6.2 | Records objectives and planning to achieve them | Planning | 3 evidence |
| 7.1 | Resources | Support | 3 evidence |
| 7.2 | Competence | Support | 3 evidence |
What is confirmed, and what is not?
| Field | Public record | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Stage | 50.00, final text received or FDIS registered for formal approval, 7 September 2026 | Confirmed |
| Edition | Edition 3, a proof, ISO/TC 46/SC 11 | Confirmed |
| Replaces | ISO 30301:2019 and ISO 30301:2019/Amd 1:2024 | Confirmed |
| Publication | Estimated 18 February 2027; window January to June 2027 (estimate) | Estimate, not an ISO date |
| Draft text | Not public. ISO sells the proof; its page carries the abstract and stage record | Not available to this site |
| Transition | No ISO 30301 transition document issued. Three-year precedent shown as a scenario | Precedent, not a rule |
What does it cost, and what is free?
- 28-record obligation register
- 84 evidence items, by clause
- 56 common gaps, by clause
- A dated plan to the earlier and later transition case
- The 2011 to 2019 crosswalk and reference update list
- Single organization licence
- The kit files while the watch is active
- Email when the rule or guidance changes
- Email when a stage date or the estimate changes
- The diff, with the source that changed
- No alert when nothing changed
- Cancel from the account page
Prices are charged in US dollars through Stripe. The kit is a one-off payment. The watch is a monthly subscription and includes the kit files while it is active. A kit buyer gets the regenerated files when the final standard is published, at no extra charge. Nothing is metered and there is no per-seat charge. What each includes.
What do buyers ask?
What is ISO/PRF 30301?
ISO/PRF 30301 is the proof stage of the third edition of ISO 30301, the management system for records standard. ISO records it at stage 50.00, final text received or FDIS registered for formal approval, dated 7 September 2026. A proof is not a published standard and cannot be certified against. Read the revision record.
When will the next edition be published?
ISO has not stated a date. This site's estimate is 18 February 2027, 120 days from the build, with a window of January to June 2027 (estimate). The next public checkpoints are 50.20, 50.60, 60.00 and 60.60. The free check shows the window and a range, not a fixed date.
Do I have to transition my certificate now?
No. A certificate issued today is against ISO 30301:2019 and remains valid to its expiry while the certificate is maintained: surveillance fees paid and nonconformities closed. That is not a guarantee of continued certification. No ISO 30301 transition document has been issued. The case here applies the three-year ends Global ACI has set for ISO 9001:2026 and ISO 14001:2026, and is labelled as a precedent.
What changes in the next edition?
The public record does not publish the PRF clause text, so this site does not state the draft changes. It does show what changed between the 2011 and 2019 editions, because the committee published that comparison, and it labels the next edition as unknown. Read the proven comparison.
Is this the ISO 30301 text?
No. This is a reference and a checker written in our own words, with a source pointer on every line. The ISO 30301:2019 text is not reproduced, and the PRF text is not public. The site tells you which part of each answer comes from the published standard, which from the public stage record, and which is an estimate.
What do I get for USD 299?
The records transition kit: a 28-record obligation register, the evidence list an auditor asks for, and a dated plan to the earlier and later transition case, as PDF, CSV and XLSX. The labelled sample shows five rows. The pricing page states the one-off price and what is free. The change watch is USD 29 a month and emails you when the rule, its guidance or its dates change.
The rules this is built from
Every line names its source. The 25 clause-level records and the 3 Annex A records for the requirements that apply today are written from the published ISO 30301:2019, in our words; the evidence and the common gaps are our reading, cited to the clause. The revision layer is read from the public ISO stage record and the committee's published comparison. Where the record is silent, the page says so. Read from the real rules, not invented.
ISO 30301:2019, clause by clause
Each clause page states the requirement in our words, the evidence, the gaps and what to do before the revision lands.
Open the clause indexAnnex A, normative
Processes, controls and systems. Requirements, not guidance, and each one has its own page.
Open Annex AWhat changed in 2019
The committee's own comparison of the 2011 and 2019 editions, with the old clause and its new home.
Read the comparisonThe ISO 30301:2019 text is not reproduced. The ISO/PRF 30301 text is not public and is not reproduced. The record this site reads is linked on the standards page.
Where does the record come from?
The clause record is read from the published ISO 30301:2019 requirement set, checked on 22 October 2026, with the 2024 amendment noted where it applies. The revision record is the ISO standard page 89772, retrieved on 22 October 2026, with the committee's own 2011 to 2019 comparison used for the crosswalk. It is not written from memory or from a search snippet. Where the public record does not show a change, the page says so rather than inventing one. Read the sources and the method.